News

Filter By:
Friday, 25th September 2020
This September has seen an influx of Shake It Up supporters challenging themselves for Parkinson’s. By choosing to fundraise for Shake It Up, th...
Wednesday, 23rd September 2020
The World Parkinson Coalition (WPC) announced the appointment of eight new Science Ambassadors and fifteen Patient Advocate Ambassadors for the 6th Wo...
Tuesday, 22nd September 2020
  Research funded by Shake It Up Australia Foundation and the Michael J. Fox Foundation demonstrated a key target in microglia, called the NLRP3 ...
Friday, 18th September 2020
Congratulations to the Amaysim team who completed their challenge this week, raising a mighty $3,440 for Parkinson’s. Over their 30 day challeng...
Monday, 14th September 2020
Recently, a team at Lund University published results in JAMA on a potential blood test for Alzheimer’s. It measures levels of plasma phospho-...
Friday, 11th September 2020
Congratulations to our heroes this week, Maddy and Judy, who have raised over $6k when they only started their challenge 11 days ago! Inspired by Judy...
Monday, 7th September 2020
In the August 2020 edition of our Third Thursdays Webinar by our partners at The Michael J. Fox Foundation, our panellists talk about environmental fa...
Monday, 7th September 2020
My dad is a fighter, not a survivor I love my dad with all my heart and he has been very brave living with a tremor. He has been very supportive of me...
Friday, 4th September 2020
Shake It Up Ambassador and professional waterman, Lincoln Dews, recently challenged himself to a 200km paddle boarding challenge with a friend for Sha...
Friday, 28th August 2020
A big team of legends at Amaysim, led by Jimi, have started a challenge to run 30 mins per day for 30 days and raise money for Shake It Up. The Amaysi...
Sunday, 23rd August 2020
APM’s first clinical trial The APM’s first clinical trial is a 3-1 trial of repurposed drugs that have demonstrated neuroprotective effects in...
Friday, 21st August 2020
The Monkey Mia team haven’t quite finished their fundraising for this year! Earlier this year, the boys went on a country ride for the Covid-19 ...
Saturday, 8th August 2020
People with Parkinson’s and families often ask about stem cells as a treatment for Parkinson’s disease (PD). Since stem cells can be turne...
Friday, 7th August 2020
Is your birthday coming up? You can celebrate and support Parkinson’s research by hosting a birthday fundraiser. Birthday fundraising is a great way...
Friday, 7th August 2020
At the start of this year, we announced that long-time supporter, Gary would be returning to Nepal with a new team of friends to climb Mt Everest, rai...
Thursday, 6th August 2020
Soania Mathur, MD and her daughters Sarika, Neha and Mareeya share their experiences communicating about Parkinson’s in their family. This webcast f...
Monday, 3rd August 2020
Two Shake It Up supporters had their lucky numbers come up in the recent Play for Purpose Raffle – winning first and fourth place. The $250,000 gold...
Friday, 31st July 2020
A huge congratulations to our heroes this week, the Monkey Mia boys (Harry Chisholm and Jim Salter, Phil Davies, Dave Cato and Andrew Urquhart), who h...
Monday, 27th July 2020
As Parkinson’s progresses and levodopa is taken for longer, some people may experience dyskinesia (involuntary movement) and/or “off” time, when...
Monday, 20th July 2020
Star-shaped cells called astrocytes perform many duties in the brain, but their latest trick could replace dopamine cells lost in Parkinson’s diseas...
Friday, 17th July 2020
This week, we are throwing it back to our 2018 Port to Pub swim heroes. After previously competing in 10 ocean water swims the team vowed never to do ...
Wednesday, 15th July 2020
The coronavirus pandemic is impacting everyone across the globe. But until recently, we had little to no research on how it was specifically affecting...
Friday, 10th July 2020
Our hero this week is Dom, who is running 100km in a single effort for his Uncle Gaz who has Parkinson’s. He’s already raised $5k. This en...
Monday, 6th July 2020
Last week, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approved Medtronic’s Percept deep brain stimulation (DBS) to treat Parkinson’s symptoms. Th...
Friday, 3rd July 2020
Our hero this week is our ambassador and professional waterman, Lincoln Dews, who is taking on a 200km paddle board with a friend for Shake It Up. The...
Thursday, 2nd July 2020
Have you been diagnosed with Young Onset Parkinson’s? Parkinson’s South Australia are championing The Young Onset Parkinson’s Exchange (...
Wednesday, 1st July 2020
Whether you recently learned you have Parkinson’s or have been living with the disease for years, you know how unsettling a diagnosis can be. It is ...
Monday, 29th June 2020
The coronavirus pandemic has forced many research operations to go remote, including in our landmark Parkinson’s Progression Markers Initiative (PPM...
Friday, 26th June 2020
After two years of incredibly successful fundraisers totalling nearly $90,000 raised for Shake It Up (Monkey Mia to Byron Bay and Monkey Mia boys go b...
Wednesday, 24th June 2020
New research led by QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute has identified ways to make the most widely-used advanced treatment for Parkinson’s di...
Friday, 19th June 2020
The charity fun run season is back on! Are you excited to get running or walking? Now is the time to start training as events like Blackmores Sydney R...
Friday, 12th June 2020
Exercise is one of the most powerful treatments for Parkinson’s disease but keeping active can be challenging under the current restrictions. Th...
Friday, 12th June 2020
Our heroes this week are Alokita, her husband Sai and children Anya (7), and Arhaan (3), who are taking on the Blackmores Sydney Running Festival as a...
Friday, 5th June 2020
Will Boag and his wife Corrie are long-time supporters of Shake It Up. They’re masters of a huge project, Will to Walk, where they travel the world ...
Friday, 29th May 2020
Could you do 100 burpees? How about 100 burpees per day for 100 days? Our hero this week is Averil and the team at CrossFit Smash Canberra who are emb...
Thursday, 21st May 2020
Last week we launched the Shake It Up Virtual Challenge – an opportunity to highlight the importance exercise plays in managing Parkinson’s and ge...
Monday, 18th May 2020
A team of neurologists, neurosurgeons and stem cell biologists from across multiple institutions reported results of a stem cell trial involving one p...
Friday, 15th May 2020
Our hero this week is Ryan who is running a half marathon or marathon every month dressed as Forrest Gump to raise funds for Shake It Up. Ryan origina...
Monday, 4th May 2020
On April 22, 2020, the pharmaceutical company Roche announced results from the first part of the PASADENA study, a Phase II clinical trial (human stud...
Thursday, 30th April 2020
Wednesday, 29th April 2020
When 2020 started, not many of us could have predicted what was headed our way. The COVID-19 crisis has significantly changed our lives and altered th...
Wednesday, 29th April 2020
While 2020 was not our normal Pause 4 Parkinson’s campaign, we have been overwhelmed by the response from our supporters. And although many of us co...
Tuesday, 21st April 2020
How do we smell? Tiny odour molecules — of cookies baking in the oven, laundry that needs to be cleaned, or rosemary growing in the garden — trave...
Monday, 20th April 2020
Recent interviews conducted by Shake It Up supporter Maree Faulkner with 21 Australians living with Parkinson’s explored the impact of their diagnos...
Saturday, 18th April 2020
What is Coronavirus Coronaviruses are a family of viruses that are like the common cold, severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS), and Middle East res...
Friday, 17th April 2020
Today, we are featuring our hero Kate, who is running a huge 2020 kilometres throughout 2020 to raise funds for Shake It Up. Her idea has turned out t...
Tuesday, 14th April 2020
Recent interviews conducted by Shake It Up supporter Maree Faulkner with 21 Australians living with Parkinson’s explored the impact of their diagnos...
Wednesday, 8th April 2020
Yesterday, we featured Mick and his fantastic idea to auction his beard for donations to Shake It Up. Today we have another innovative fundraising ide...
Load More

SIGN UP FOR EMAIL UPDATES

GET PARKINSON'S RESEARCH NEWS, FOUNDATION UPDATES, INVITATIONS TO EVENTS AND MORE.

SIGN UP FOR EMAIL UPDATES

GET PARKINSON'S RESEARCH NEWS, FOUNDATION UPDATES, INVITATIONS TO EVENTS AND MORE.